City Election this November 7th, 2023

The position of Mayor and 3 Council seats will be on the ballot. The City of Lamont Mayor’s position has a 2-year term. Council seats have 4-year terms.  Current Mayor is Mary Ann Dozark.  Kay Behrens, JoDee Devlin, & Joe Lincoln hold the Council Seats which will become open.  The people elected will begin serving January 1, 2024 except Joe Lincoln seat will begin November 7, 2023. The 2 Council seats that will be staying are Jarrod Lamphier & Mike Slack.

Candidates must be eligible electors of the City of Lamont. This means you must live within City Limits of Lamont, be a US citizen, be of legal voting age, and not have been convicted of a felony or other infamous crime for which your rights have not been restored by the Iowa Governor or by the President of the United States. 

Each candidate must file an affidavit of candidacy and nomination petitions with Buchanan County Auditor’s office.  Kris Wilgenbusch is Buchanan County Auditor, and her office is located on the 1st Floor of Courthouse – 210 5th Ave. NE, Independence, IA.  An Affidavit of Candidacy and a Nomination Petition for City offices can be filed starting August 28, 2023 and must be filed by September 21, 2023.  Lamont only needs 10 signatures on the nomination petitions.

Posted in